Wednesday , 18 September 2019
Home >> Uncategorized >> Buddha Air Beechcraft 1900D crashes. All 19 aboard feared dead.

Buddha Air Beechcraft 1900D crashes. All 19 aboard feared dead.

A Beechcraft 1900D belonging to Kathmandu, Nepal based Buddha Air crashed while attempting to land, in dense fog, near the national capital Kathmandu earlier this morning.

The plane with 16 passengers and three crew was on a flight from the capital to view Mount Everest and crashed on its return around Bisankunarayan village, just a few kilometres south of Kathmandu. All aboard are feared dead. Ten Indians are amongst the 16 passengers.

Police officials near the crash site said rescuers had reached the crash site, but would not comment on causalities. The aircraft last made contact with the Kathmandu air traffic control at 07:31 local (07:15 IST, 01:45Z).

Update 1 – (10:30IST, 05:00Z)
The aircraft registration is 9N-AEK. Photos of the aircraft including the Mount Everest trip can be seen here.

About Devesh Agarwal

A electronics and automotive product management, marketing and branding expert, he was awarded a silver medal at the Lockheed Martin innovation competition 2010. He is ranked 6th on Mashable's list of aviation pros on Twitter and in addition to Bangalore Aviation, he has contributed to leading publications like Aviation Week, Conde Nast Traveller India, The Economic Times, and The Mint (a Wall Street Journal content partner). He remains a frequent flier and shares the good, the bad, and the ugly about the Indian aviation industry without fear or favour.

Check Also

Jet Airways' Boeing 737-800 VT-JBD

Why Jet Airways is critical to Boeing’s India presence

Indian aviation continues to show tremendous aviation potential with growth forecast to be in the …

Spicejet Boeing 737-800 VT-SPL "Cardamom"

SpiceJet Q3FY19 results analysis: challenges remain

SpiceJet, reported its third quarter results of the fiscal year 2018-19 (FY19) this Monday. There …